In some countries around the world men and women tend to have their children later in life. Why did this happen? What are the effects on society and family life?

Nowadays, in many regions of the world, more and more couples choose to produce their offspring late. This tendency is mainly caused by the preference to pursue career goals and the need to experience other aspects of life before settling down. However, this trend could bring both positive and negative effects on families and society. One of the main reasons young men and women delay having babies is to develop their career paths. As the quality of life is improved through the ages, so does the cost of living, especially in metro cities. Therefore, graduates would like to focus on their jobs rather than getting married and nurturing a child. The need to experience other pleasures of life is another reason couples choose to postpone having children, as caring for a baby would mean less time for themselves. It is pretty common these days for youngsters to enjoy and follow their hobbies before having a family. For instance, one who is passionate about travelling would probably prefer to explore foreign cultures prior to becoming parents when they're young. However, giving birth in a later stage of life has a mixed impact on society and family. For a start, a state's economy would be boosted significantly as most of its citizens are focused on improving their earnings. In other words, a nation would be prosperous when the working force is professional and hard working. Singapore would be a great example; the country witnessed a miracle growth in the economy in just a few decades thanks to the hard work of its citizens, both male and female. On the contrary, when men and women choose to give birth past their middle age, there would be a considerable age difference between parents and child, creating problems for both parties to find harmony. In this situation, the child's mental growth might be disordered. In conclusion, due to prioritizing career paths and focusing on other pleasures of life, many are having babies late in life. This resulted in bringing prosperity to the economy but would create distances between parents and their offspring.