Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Due to the growing number of elderly people, attention on benefits after retirement is increasing as well. Pension is one of the major benefits of retirement. However, the eligible age is controversial. Many countries have certain age rules regard with receiving pensions. Nevertheless, from my own perspective, the age should be more flexible for each and every individual. Particularly for those who have a job that requires a high level of physical activity. To begin with, every family and individual has a different life and family plan. Therefore it does not sound sensible to make people retire at a certain age. It should have a reasonable period, so people can decide when to retire along with their plans. For example, if the rule allows people can receive their pension between the age of 60 to 70, then people can plan their lives after retirement with flexibility as well as they can utilise to the fullest extent. Particularly, there are some jobs such as trade, hospitality, athletes which require diverse physical activities. Because of the features of jobs, it is hard for workers to work until age 65. In other words, it is physically impossible to keep working and make income with those jobs when people are old, whereas such as office jobs are easy to maintain regardless of age. That is to say, for those jobs have feasible reasons, the age rule must be easied. In conclusion, having a set age rule for retirement and pension is considered unreasonable. Respecting different life plans and job features, it is plausible to have a flexible period, so it provides people with a chance to establish their own retirement plans.