Considering that adults spend much of their lives at work, having job satisfaction is extremely important. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all employees? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Work is the predominant thing in our lives. Although there are other aspects in their lives, such as family, friends and hobbies the truth is that most time of the day is spent in the workplace. Job satisfaction, therefore, has to be given paramount importance. One of the main features that people who enjoy their work share, is that it is related to a field of their interest. Being able to learn about something they find interesting makes people more likely to put more effort into their duties, which gives them a feeling of reward in return. Secondly, a job must be related to personal beliefs and principles. For instance, professionals working in the field of medicine is known to be among the most satisfied, as it gives them the feeling that they are having a positive impact on the society they live in. Another important aspect to consider is the environment in which employees work; a good relationship with their peers, having leisure time are among the most important ones. This not only fosters motivation but also reinforces the idea that their job is being appreciated and that their wellbeing and happiness is important to the company they work in. From my own experience, I have seen how some of my peers would manifest a sense of accomplishment when the company showed them the profits it had thanks to a given project they had been working on. Jobs satisfaction, however, is not as common as it may seem. In fact, several surveys all over the world indicate that it is more a utopia than a real scenery. In fact, most people considered that their work was making no difference in any aspect and they showed described their duties as boring and unnecessary. This negative scheme can be reversed if the problem is approached properly. As a matter of fact, satisfaction rates could dramatically rise if companies took action and addressed the issue properly, by giving their employees longer vacations and making them more aware of the actual necessity of their work. To conclude, companies should pay special attention to improving the working conditions of their employees as this would significantly increase their job satisfaction.