Some people say history is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the importance of history subjects in the educational system. While some claim that history plays a paramount significant role in school subjects, the others make a statement that science and technology are more significant. In my opinion, all of the mentioned subjects should be equally taken into consideration because they are equally valid in education. It cannot be denied that history can bring about a wave of redeeming features to students. Obviously, through history, students can learn how past societies, systems, ideologies and cultures of a nation were built, how they operated and how they changed. Hence, they can paint a detailed picture of the social context and deeply comprehend about where they stand today, which widens their horizon about all aspects of life. Another profound idea is that the long-standing history consists of an eclectic mix of battle-related legends and stories about the harsh journey that our forefathers went through to keep the independence of the nation. Those valuable information, therefore, can provoke patriotism among the learners to make them appreciate the peace they are living in, which convey a stronger sense of historical and personal identity. While the merits of studying history are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if those of science and technology are ignored. It cannot be denied that there is a wealth of natural phenomena proved in scientific evidence, which can help the learners absorb the mechanism of the things in the most verified way. For example, when studying about the movement of electrons, protons and neutrons in the atoms and the way they generate electricity, students can deeply understand the appearance of lightning in a torrential rain. Moreover, in this intensive labour market, the acclaimed corporations tend to prioritize aspirant job seekers who have a professional set of skill in technology, which can help them handle tasks with the fastest speed and the highest accuracy. Hence, adopting those technological skills for students can be a decent preparation for them to become a productive person in their line of vocations. To sum up, all the historical-related subjects or the science and technological ones act as a precursor for the development of children to become a more rounded person. Thus, those subjects should be balanced in school.