Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. However, the governments of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer nations in such areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is an irrefutable fact that people living in destitute conditions cannot enjoy the same standard of life as the majority of people in society. A segment of society is convinced that the poor nations need financial aid provided by the rich nations to improve education, trade and healthcare sectors to get out of the poverty circle. I fully agree with this opinion, because this would be beneficial for both the wealthy and the economically backward countries. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. To commence, providing financial help to poor countries can address socio-economic issues such as poverty and crime on an international level. It is well known that the main reason for criminal offences is poverty. People turn to crime to cover expenses for their basic needs for food and accommodation. However, with enhanced education and trade sectors, individuals in underdeveloped countries can get more chances to engage in activities and get paid. For instance, many talented people are given opportunities to learn software engineering at affordable rates and work for overseas countries remotely. As a result, individuals improve their living conditions and stay away from crime, which in turn, makes the world a safer place to live. Adding further, affluent countries benefit from creating markets for themselves. In other words, if people in poor countries get more money to spend for their needs, international businesses of rich countries will get a new market to expand. For example, people will be able to afford to buy groceries in supermarkets like Walmart or Carrefour. Additionally, new businesses will create new employment opportunities. To conclude, I believe that the rich nations should help the poor nations as this would create a win-win situation. If essential areas like education and trade are improved, people living in destitute conditions will get a chance to improve their living standards.