Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

There are many factors to indicate why gender discrimination in the workplace still remains one of the most serious problems nowadays, despite the positive shift of social prejudice against women. Involving in maternity leave payment, many people believe that small businesses should not hire single female employees in order to entirely remove this future expense. This essay will provide reasons to refute the aforementioned statement. Considering a long-term profit, it is undeniable that the revenue young women bring to small companies can far exceed the expense of maternity leave. Since there are no burdens or distractions bothering these employees, not only they can concentrate more on their works but also they tend to have better productivities compared to the married ones. Moreover, because the trend of delaying marriage is rising around the globe, especially in America, the period that women can fully spend on working is longer than ever. For instance, if wedded women have to consistently worry about daily matters such as the health of their children or resolving family conflicts, single women do not have these issues, thus giving them personal freedom and allowing them to invest their entire ability to develop a future career. For short-term benefits, small companies are more likely to have an easier negotiation with a low salary to young women staff compared to married ones. While women who already have their own family have to worry about daily expenses thus require corporations to offer them a higher income, young females often care about prospects that their occupation brings, therefore they tend to accept a low-paid job for its future benefits. This will significantly reduce the amount of money that small companies have to carry, especially for entrepreneurs, thus allowing them to invest in further development. In essence, the notion that small companies should reject any application from single women is what I strongly disagree with. They should focus more on future benefits that hiring young female employees brings rather than just pay attention to the expense that has little effect on the existence of their businesses.