More and more people are busy with work and do not have enough time to spend with their families and friends. Why does this happen? What are the effects on family and society as a whole?

One of the pressing issues facing many people nowadays is the norm of increasing working hours. While some believe that it is the consequence of competitive society, others argue this is caused by individual affairs. This essay will illustrate the reason for raising working hours in terms of social and individual responsibilities as well as explore the ramification of such a phenomenon in breaking relationships with family members and causing more crime in the world. To understand the truth of elevated working hours, it is vital to analyse the underlying cause - competitive working environment. As a metropoliten, working does not mean finishing tasks only but also racing with your competitor. If you are not working harder and longer, you may lose your customer, the chance of earning more money, the chance of promotion or even your job. Therefore, everyone is trying to push themselves forward to reach a higher target in order to win the game. Time spent on work will significantly surge as a result. Turning to the effect of the aforementioned problem, breaking relationships between family members is the most critical one. The reason for such lies in that employees may be parents of children and spouses of someone. Elongated working hours will minimize individuals to spend time with their families, thus adversely affecting the bonding between parent-child and couple, resulting in divoice and conflict between parents and children. There are tremendous studies proving that children from single families or having unconcerned parents will have a higher rate of commiting crime. Therefore, long working hours may eventually push up the crime rate in our society. In conclusion, the trend of increasing working hours is caused by the competitive environment which forces citizens to strive for their best at work with more and more time to spend there. However, it will badly affect the relationship in the family and result in broken families and a broom in criminal rate. It is believed that work-life balance is vitally important to each person and even the whole community. Governments should set up the longest working hours to avoid the drawback of the above problem.