Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

The statement whether old buildings be protected because of their historical values or demolished and replaced with new buildings with many facilities has never ceased to provoke debates. Personally, I believe that maintaining some of these ancient buildings is essential, since these buildings have a wealth of historical values. However, not every building needs to be restored. It is believed that these old buildings need to be preserved because they help to build a stronger sense of historical and personal identity. Moreover, they also boost the economic situation. Over the past decades, our previous generation has built the architecture, which has become the symbol of the city and characterizes the country. Furthermore, traditional buildings are the element to distinguish one culture from another. The uniqueness of these buildings can draw an appeal to a wide range of visitors, which can provide a source of tourism income if maintained well. Therefore, the demolition of pre-existing buildings can not only cause a huge damage to cultural heritage, but also can prevent architects from drawing inspiration from their predecessors. Hence, it is fair to say that classical architectures play a paramount significant role in current life and they can perform as many functions as modern buildings do. Even though the importance of old buildings is widely acknowledged, this does not mean that every ancient building needs to be renovated. For instance, if the building is poor in conditions, maintaining it can pose danger to occupants and pedestrians. The fragments can fall anytime and cause undesirable injuries. Besides, these dilapidated buildings can impede other forms of urban developments by tanishing the beauty of landscape. Hence, these run-downs provide no justification for continued maintenance and should be pulled down. To conclude, the maintenance of historical buildings is essential because of the tremendous values they bring back. However, this does not mean that every of them should be retained, those tatty should be pulled down due to the damage it can cause.