Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people suggest that giving every jobless person a smartphone and making sure they have access to the Internet is the best way of utilizing public money, hoping to reduce the unemployment issue. In my opinion, giving jobless people mobile phone and access to The Internet isn’t the proper way to tackle the problem of unemployment. Given that the unemployed receive smartphones and access to the Internet, the issue of unemployment still remains. Handing phones and internet access to the jobless isn't going to encourage people to find jobs. What the government should consider doing is creating new jobs or open campaigns which teach jobless people new skills they haven’t acquired yet. For example, the Thai government started a campaign in which successful marketing companies come and teach the unemployed salesmanship skills for free. The campaign inspired many jobless people to start their own business. In addition, using the public money to distribute phone and internet access is just wasting public money for free. As I have mentioned in the paragraph above, resolving the issue of joblessness with phones and internet access isn’t a way to advocate people to look for jobs. If the government wants to put in use the public money for the development of the country, I suggest using it to improve other aspects of society such as infrastructure, public health, and education. By improving such aspects of the country, it can indirectly alleviate the issue of unemployment. Although the result might not be seen suddenly it will surely be mitigated as time passes by. To conclude, the best way to handle the problem of unemployment is to create new jobs or construct campaigns which persuade people to find jobs. Moreover, enhancing other components in society can be more efficient than just handing out jobless people smartphones and access to the internet.