In some cities, government has tried to tax owners of the vehicles, for example to reduce the traffic congestion. Do you think it is a positive or negative impact?

In a large number of countries the world over, the general public is suffering a lot from traffic jams. Resultantly, some governments have taken a step to impose a high levy on cars’ owners in order to reduce traffic congestions. I, nonetheless, deem that this decision would surely have detrimental repercussions. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that deals with the significance of not enforcing an excess tax on owners of the vehicles as a way of stabilizing the price of final products. In other words, if authorities levy a high charge on cars’ owners, the transportation cost of food and other products increases substantially, causing many customers to cut their budgets. For example, in 2009, when the government of Singapore raised the tax of cars’ owners so as to control pollution and contain traffic jams, the price of daily consumable products increased twofold, created dissatisfaction towards the government in that people were not able to bear the excess costs. Hence, the decision of raising taxes for cars’ owners would indubitably have negative ramifications. Another critical rationale in reference to why the increasing tax of cars’ owners will not bring any positive result is necessarily synonymous with having no significant impact on their lifestyle. To be more precise, a person, who has the ability to buy a car, to spend money on petrol, drivers and so do forth, can easily pay the taxes imposed by the government with a view to maintaining his present style of living. As a consequence, this step would cause problems only for the general people who have to pay more fares in public transportations. For instance, in 2019, India’s government charged a high tax on cars’ owners which increased the gap between haves and have-nots. In conclusion, inasmuch as the decision of raising taxes for vehicles’ owners will increase the price of foods and will have no impact on rich people, it would undoubtedly have negative consequences.