Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals consider that lawbreakers might sent in imprisonment for long time,in order to decline the crime rate. Although, strict punishment can creates fear among offenders,I believe that, other methods can be used to mitigate this issue. To commence with, imprisonment is helpful to decrease the crime rate, because it creates fear among criminals,they will think twice before committing further crime.It makes streets free from offenders. To justify it, a survey was conducted in South Africa and seen that large no of criminals put into sentences which decline 80% mishappennings. Moreover, imprisonment is only solution to control the temper of the offenders and also to realize them about their mistakes,so that they avoid to harm others On the opposite side, other ways should be used to handle this issue. Firstly, rehabilitation centre should be introduced to provide cuncelling to criminals,it helps to expel negative thoughts from the brain of offenders. Secondly, government should create awareness about laws against misdoing and penalty should be imposed. Also, authorities should increase litrecy rate, so that people can get well paid jobs for their living and avoid committing crimes. To conclude, although sending them in imprisonment is a permanent solution of the problem; however I believe that government should make people aware about laws and also provide job opportunities.