The reason that most individuals are in debt is due to the overuse and irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks should not issue credit cards unless they are completely sure of an individual’s ability to pay back their debts. To what extent do you agree with this?

Nowadays, it is undeniable that credit cards are a useful thing in our life. Credit cards help people’s life easier when they spend. However, if someone does not estimate themself while spending via cards and also lack responsibility, there are some disadvantages if they use it in the wrong way. Currently, there are many methods to pay, for example, cash, debit cards, mobile banking, or credit cards. But, a credit card is the only type that customers are not necessary to pay when they buy at that moment because of its ability that can pay for customers in advance. Moreover, people not only need to have many cards in their wallets but also they do not necessary to pay by cash in the cashless society and the spread of coronavirus these days. Nevertheless, numerous advantages of credit cards also have many disadvantages. Most individuals do not consider their income and overspend when they purchase. To illustrate, some people who possess credit cards swipe their credit cards around 50-60 per cent of their salary. Also, some types of customers do not care about the responsibility and they are thoughtless when paying credit card bills on time. This inappropriate action brings about a huge debt that they are not able to pay off. Moreover, too much debt is related to the individual’s credibility and reliability in the future. To conclude, I agree that banks should elaborately check each individual account and history of use cards. Besides, banks should also thoroughly tell a regulation before issue credit cards. This is to say that a credit card has both positive and negative ways if they misuse it.