Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is generally known that securing a preferred job for job -seekers is quite challenging in this competitive labour market. The question whether obtain a tertiary education or having experience and soft skills, is the best approach for finding a desired job for applicants is controversial among individuals. In this essay, both methods’ arguments and reasons will be enlightened. To begin with, the advocates of a tertiary education might argue that gaining an advanced education is the prime key for securing a high -profile jobs for applicants. To be more clear, a profound theoretical knowledge is the foundation for further career prospect in many white collar jobs such as medicine or law. Because the process of obtaining a deep knowledge in these spheres requires for reasonably longer period which itself is impossible to absorb all theoretical knowledge during training courses. A good example of this is doctor whose qualification demands a huge range of knowledge in many both Clinical and Basic subjects like Anatomy, Physiology, Surgery or Therapy which are really critical for checking up, diagnosing and treating people. Similarly, the law authority employees also should have an adequate knowledge in Law as the lives of people are totally depend on their honest decision. Therefore, many people believe that for further career progression, university education is fundamental. Conversely, the individuals who are favour of experience and soft skills, might consider that they are important for quickly finding a job in some fields such as advertising, marketing or sales. In other words, the requirements of these kind of jobs are mostly soft skills like communication, interaction, decision-making, organisations, teamwork, critical thinking or active listening skills. For the further development of these skills applicants need more experience in these fields. For example, in advertising industry without persuasive ability or creativity skills it is hard to attract customers’ attention for increasing sales. Thus, some individuals’ notion for finding a job successfully, is to have adequate experience and soft skills. In conclusion, while some people advocate the importance of an advanced education, others emphasize the priority of obtained experience and soft skills to succeed in having a desired job. However, I suppose that job applicants with both university education and experience with soft skills would be more successful not only in securing a preferred job but also in further career progression as well as they would become asset workers for the companies and organisations.