Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

In recent times it’s easier to find people that, even though they are struggling financially or are already in debt, continue to spend money to buy things that are not necessary. If you analyse the reasons behind this type of choice, it can be seen that it’s mostly due to psychological factors. Because of that, there’s a need for projects that could raise awareness on this matter. One of the causes of this problem seems to be psychological. In fact, people are mostly corrupted by today’s society and they feel the need to buy and spend money each day, sometimes on things they don’t even realise are not needed. Moreover, once they reach the point where they’re already in debt, most people end up not caring anymore about their financial status, mostly because they notice that the damage it’s already done. For example, I've seen people continue to gamble even if they already lost most of their money because they didn't have anything to lose anymore. To put an end to these situations, there’s only one thing that can be done: raise awareness. If the government took time to create projects and campaigns to make adults aware of this matter and to guide those people, so that they can understand how to properly manage their money, the situation would probably be under control. To sum up, more and more people during the last years have started to spend money on objects that are useless and that happens because of how our society works nowadays and because of psychological reasons, however much can be done to help them, and the government should start with campaigns to raise awareness and projects to teach people how to spend efficiently their resources.