Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Access to computers has increased significantly over recent decades, and more and more adults playing games on computer. This essay will discuss why myriad of adults present this preference and why it is a positive development. These days, many employees are under the stress because of heavy workload, job insecurity and conflicts with co-workers or bosses, and the stress leads to burnout. Majority of employees do not have a work-life balance, hence they spend much time in front of a computer, playing games online. While doing this, they don’t need to think about their work and they can fully focus on the games. By doing this, adults can relieve their stress. Furthermore, it’s cheap and comfortable. Game users don’t have to pay a lot of money unless they buy some game items, and almost every adults can play games in their own place. Thus, playing games is genuinely perfect way for adults to alleviate their stress. In addition, while playing games, they can have a chat with other users. This can be another way of assuage the stress that came from their work. In their workplace, employees always meet the same people in the limited area, consequently they cannot socialize with many people. However, when they playing games, adults can meet numerous new people online and have a chat with them. Their conversation topics are not limited to work, but their daily lives, friendships, family, and future plans. Some people even meet offline and became a good friend. This whole process can help them to reduce their stress. Thanks to easy access to computer, adults can play computer games more often these days and they can manage their stress by playing games. All in all, this aspect is expected to be have positive effect on many adults.