Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The possession of luxuries items among citizens, such as cars, has shown rapid growth during the past decades. The major reason is that several individuals prefer to live luxury lifestyles and seek ultimate conveniences. Therefore, cities all over the globe have encountered the problem of road congestion. In general, this is an urgent issue that government must take control of immediately. From my point of view, the fact that risen number of automobiles is a major problem for road congestion is absolutely true. New cars that are brought annually becoming a group of traffic jams, this concern is extremely intense,especially in metropolitan cities. In a city like Bangkok, almost every day after 5 p.m. when most workers have finished their jobs, the traffic starts to accumulate. This situation is even worst when there are accidents and weather conditions, including heavy rain. In addition, the large number of cars lead to long-term environmental issues, like carbon emissions and scarcity of natural resources. An increase in taxes and improvement of public transportation are essential measures that government need to take action to minimize street blockage. The authorities set limitations on the number of automobiles that each person can own. Then, if an excessive vehicle is needed, extra taxes can be charged. Additionally, the rise in the price of oil has a possible chance of reducing the use of vehicles as well. Consequently, the extravagant cost of vehicle usage is able to discourage the majority of the citizens. Another solution is to encourage people to use public transportation. These methods can mitigate the ongoing problem of traffic jams in various countries because there are fewer vehicles on the roads. For example, carpool is also an effective method, which gathered strangers with the same destinations. In conclusion, the rise in car ownership is directly related to issuing of road congestion. During the past decade, this concern becoming more obvious. However, the government can make total expense