Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Numerous people in Turkey are going to college to get a job and acquire the necessary knowledge and competence in their own business area. However, in historical background, it is seen that universities are places where they have the opportunity to express free thought by to access to right information. Therefore, the leading purpose of going to university should be more than providing people with occupation. In general, people give importance to how they can earn their keep when choosing a department due to their economic status. Despite studying to obtain a good position of employment, over 70% of Turkey’s population does not work in their own business after graduation. Hence, occupational proficiency should not assess according to the university education. In fact that many university departments do not depend on formal academic education except medicine, dentistry, law, etc. While it is necessary to be trained to work in these fields, sometimes being schooled may be a loss of time. For example, someone who wants to be a merchant, should she get into the trade department or start to trade? So the university is not an essential factor for getting a job and becoming an expert especially in some sectors such as waiter, tailor, carpenter. On the other hand, the origin of the university is based on Socrates, an Ancient Greek philosopher. He had established the academy in order to sit in the amphitheater and speak out the ideas in philosophy, maths, physics, astronomy, religion, and so on. Students can learn the importance of knowledge, how to make science, to think properly, and to reach reliable resources in a specific area by the means of the academy called university at present time. In my opinion, only individuals who do not have salary concerns should attend the college because of the academic spirit. Others do not need to go to there to be hired. They may try different ways from university to be recruited. In conclusion, graduates gain opportunities to not only make a living but also access information through the university. But earning money instead of attaining valuable information is not a sufficient reason for going to college. The primary function of a university is to understand the value of knowledge.