When choosing a job, salary is the most consideration. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many believe that income is a prominent concern when selecting career prospects. Personally, I somewhat agree with the statement because by having good wages, people have the power to cover not only their basic necessities but also providing better security for retirement. Although this view may be reasonable, I am not completely in favour of the aforementioned opinion as I believe the psychological aspect of a human has to be taken as seriously. First of all, it is an undeniable fact that earning above the average leads to higher capacity to gain various goods and services. This means by having more dollar bills, an individual can afford prime essentials, such as food and accommodation, and even secondary needs like entertainment and leisure activities. Secondly, when a person earns more than he spends, the remaining funds can then be allocated as savings towards retirement. For instance, in Australia, on average the population makes about $80,000 per year and has a predicted sum of at least $400,000 on retirement. Nevertheless, mental health is equally important as yearly earnings when we are deciding our line of work. Many workers ignore the sustainability or the challenges of a job when they start, eventually leading to stress and depression. Eventually, these types of mental burdens led to suicide attempts, which is a dead-end regardless of how much wealth a person can have. As an illustration, Switzerland, which citizens have the highest paying income annually, also ironically has the highest suicide rate in the world. The majority have yet to decipher that happiness is crucial, despite the tempting remuneration of their chosen occupation. I believe one has to be happy in order to comfortably commit to a certain profession for years. In conclusion, there will always be divided opinions on whether income is the priority contemplation for job-seekers or not. Based on the reasons explained in this essay, I agree with the point that money is a massive buying power to sustain life that could even provide a safety net for pension. However, I also believe that sanity is an equally crucial condition to bear in mind.