Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Humans have been smoking for hundreds of years, initially, people take it as a fashion activity, and enjoy the moments it brings to us. Though no authority would encourage anyone to smoke, they don' t ban the production of cigarettes, so people can buy them conveniently. We realized that it causes serious health problems, the smoker usually has to suffer from more diseases than non-smokers, and they also have a shorter life expectancy. Moreover, they cost society a lot of medical resources. One major reason for this is, So some people propose that governments should ban tobacco products. I do not fully agree with this point of view for the following reasons. First of all, there are already a lot of people addicted to smoking. Cutting down the cigarettes supplies may cause those people to suffer from the addiction. And usually, they will try to find some alternative or to buy cigarettes from illegal sources, which may cause more problems because some illegal products may harm smoker's health even worse, and it is difficult for the government to control and regulate the black market. Secondly, some people believe that they have the right to enjoy something as long as they don' t hurt others, and tobacco is one of these things. We have to admit that tobacco is not as bad as drugs, and since then we shouldn' t expect government takes the same measure as to drugs. To conclude, given that many people still need it, and it takes time for those to quit, I believe banning cigarettes could cause more problems than it solves. It doesn' t mean we can do nothing about it, the government can still use the tax policy, smoking area limitation, and better education measures to control and reduce the demand for smoking.