Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

A Car is an incredible invention in the world. The amount of people who have their own car are steeply increased over these past thirty years which definitely affect to each countries' traffic. This essay will discuss about the fact that increasing car ownership leads to heavy traffic and suggest some policies for goverments government to be able to encourage citizens to reduce using cars. It is true that the more people own cars, the more traffic jam in the city. There are many cities that are now facing this issue. In Bangkok, for instance, there was once a policy named "The First Car " which the government would pay half of the buying tax if that person bought thier first car. Because of that policy, the car ownership rate was increased. Consequently, there was data from reliable sources shown that Bangkokians spent more time significantly on the road. There are two suggested measures that might help goverments government decrease the number of car users. Firstly, governments have to educate their citizens about the disadvantages of using cars. For example, driving vehicles will lead to global warming because of carbondioxide emission from the car. Secondly, Governments need to invest more on infrastructure. This development policy will definitely help reducing the number of car users by increasing the usage of public transportation. In conclusion, during the past thirty years, the usage of cars in many cities has steeply increased which lead to heavy traffics. However, giving knowledges about drawbacks of using car and improving infrastructure especially public transports could be governments' policies to decrease people from using their cars.