Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While some people think that a higher educational degree attained from a university is given more priority than relevant experience or other soft skills while considering for a particular job, there are others who think vice versa. In my opinion, what must be given more weightage depends on the job profile, the candidate is being considered for. For academic jobs, a higher degree would be mandatory, but for business fields it may be necessary. On one hand, many would have agree that a good higher educational degree would put you one step ahead. Tertiary education is gaining importance with the current generations. This is very evident from the increasing number of university graduates every year. For instance, when a job profile is vacant and if you do not have a sufficient degree, it may become difficult for you to withstand the other high achievers competing against you, thereby, pulling you down the game. On the other hand, having relevant experience and soft skills like leadership skills and other interpersonal skills can throw the balance in favour of the applicant. Nowadays, the competition is very high and a single vacancy receives tremendous number of applications. Although, a large number of these applicants would be university graduates, it would be the experience level and interpersonal skills suitable for the respective job line that would push you up the scale. I believe that the job description would be the deciding factor. For example, for roles like a lawyer, doctor or a teacher, a candidate cannot be fit for the job unless they have attained a degree. While for running a business, more than the degree, it would be the skills and experience that would help him succeed. To conclude, the university degree as well as experience and skills play an equally important role for various job profiles, yet the level of importance can vary from the one line of profession to another.