In many large cities, people waste hours of their time every day because of traffic congestion on the roads. What are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, many people in metropolitan cities have to spend hours on the roads due to traffic jams. This is a serious problem because it will increase level of stress. In this essay, I will examine the critical causes of this, and provide possible two solutions. The most important cause of traffic problems in large cities is a lack of public transport. With few alternatives, many people choose to commute by private car since it is quicker and more convenient. As a result, traffic jams occurs, particularly on the main roads which are popular routes. Another key factor is the same fix working hour across the city. As the majority of workers have to start and finish working at a same time, mostly traffic jams happen during the rush hours. Fortunately, however, there are two promising solutions to this problem. Firstly, immediate solution is improving public transportations. Although, this action requires a lot of resources and costly, it will definitely create a positive impact for societies. For instance, some countries in Europe were building bike lanes in order to promote their communities to ride bikes. Consequently, it reduces the number of cars on the roads. Secondly, another solution is that the city government should introduce different working hour and promote employee to work from home. As mostly traffic jams happen during the rush hours, therefore allowing employee to have a flexible working time or work from anywhere will reduce the demand of transporting. In conclusion, the traffic congestions may be the result from a low quality of transportations and infrastructure. Nonetheless, to resolve this problem, two vital solutions should take into an account. It includes developing public transportations and supporting workers to work from home.