Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that companies should focus on their employee’s performance for achieving tasks rather than noticing the way they dress. Does an employee's dressing really matter for identifying his work quality? I do not agree with this notion. I believe that focusing on employees’ working efficiency will not only encourage positive competition among staff, but it will also help to increase the financial growth of a company. Dressing appropriately is primarily important when a firm has a staff of diverse cultures. Firstly, people from various ethnicities wear different apparels which not only represent their traditions and religions, but they will also show their attachment with their norms. Secondly, employers need to understand that there would be significant consequences if they ignore a standard dress code. For example, wearing an unethical dress such as a short skirt can be mentally challenging for a Muslim girl who is working on the same floor as it is against their cultural and religious beliefs. Similarly, executives' efforts to have acceptable clothing in the workplace will also enhance working efficiency. If employers give freedom for dresses then people might be focusing on fashion, talking about different apparel brands and shopping malls, which in result can cause significant damage to business efficiency as people will be spending too much time on these activities. So, businesses should try to develop scenarios where productivity is maximized rather than encouraging an activity such as dress freedom which can harm them in the long term. In conclusion, we discussed how cultural awareness can be appreciated when business executives focus on employees' working dresses, and how a healthy working environment can be created by focusing on personal choices such as wearing dresses and jewellery.