SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT READING STORIES FROM A BOOK IS BETTER THAN WATCHING TV OR PLAYING COMPUTER GAMES FOR CHILDREN. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE ?

Childhood is a time when most of brain development happen, and during this time our children develop skills like imagination, listening, creativity, etc. I belive that listening to stories stimulates more brain activity than watching TV or playing computer games. Hearing a story being read from a book by a parent will help the toddler to improve their listening skill. Practising the skill from childhood can help an individual in his academic as well as professional life. Telling a story to your child will allow you to spend more time talking with the kid, as a result, it can also help in creating a bond between the father/mother and offspring. For instance, research suggest that babies who listen to their parents learn words quickly and start speaking soon, as compared to babies who have been less exposed to everyday conversation. Stories always sparks imagination in a kid, since they are not visually seeing the characters mentioned in the story thier mind will try to make figures and shapes which turn out to be their own personalised characters. When a child try to grasp the story the creative lobe of his brain starts to improve, thereby, enhancing the pupil’s capability for visualising complex topics easily. For example, when the visualising capability is improved, a person can easily map out complex diagrams and, can even have photographic memories. Studies have discovered that the creative side of brain was more active in scientists like Albert Einstien. Although, watching TV and playing games are easy for a child to imbibe, there is minimal brian activity happening during this type of liesure. All the places and characters are well defined and is displayed on a big screen in front of the kid, in addition to that there is minimum amount of interaction between parents and offspring during a gaming session. In conclusion, I think narrating a story is far more effective for the cognitive development of a pupil than playing games, or watching TV with them. Although the latter is also required the former should be given importance.