Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

It is certainly the case that some people buy unnecessary things and things that are too expensive to afford, getting themselves into debt. In the following essay, I will discuss what cause people over shopping and the way to prevent this problem. There are two main reasons causing people over shopping, Firstly, ideas delivered by advertisements might make people desire things they do not need. For example, some entertainment companies tell fans that the success of their idol is totally depending on how much they spend. To assist the career of their idol, fans buy tons of CDs published by their idol even though they only need one CD. Secondly, people buy luxuries they cannot afford to show their social status. This is because,at present, many people believe that the more luxury you have, the more respect you can receive. For example, many people believe if a man drives a sports car to their work, he must be an elite. The belief drives people to buy things that are too expensive for them to afford. However, there are several ways to prevent people from over shopping. To begin, banks can do careful research before they issue the debt, ensuring the amount of loan can match borrowers income. For example, if a person earns ten thousand per month, banks should not give them a hundred thousand limits on his credit card. In addition, parents can teach their children that social status is depending on their behaviour rather than their wealth. In conclusion, several factors make people more easily get into debt; however, solutions to keep people from getting into debt are available.