Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Consumption of packaged foods and drinks are increasing evermore across the globe. The main reason for this shift from cooking to ready-to-eat alternatives is because of the conveinience and changing tastes. However, the consumption of manufactured food has its consequences, these items are often having high level of sugar and fats inorder to increase their shelf-life, as well as to make them tasty, resulting in severe health problems among people. Therefore, it is important to find methods to reduce sugar consumption. I disagree that making sugar products expensive is one of the methods to reduce sugar consumption, since, the effectiveness of this method is questionable. Consumption of high sugar products are causing many health problems in adults nowadays. For instance, studies suggest that more that 60% of American adults are suffering from obesity, as a result there is an increase in heart related issues among adults. The major contributer to obesity is the packaged drinks which are often advertised as healthy, but is reported to have high sugar content. Thus it is high time that we put forth intiatives to reduce sugar consumption. One of the ways to reduce sugar consumption is through making sugary foods expensive. For example in Kerala in the 2019 budget the goverment started imposing health tax on junk foods which would make them expensive, as a result, they will not be bought frequently by the people. Although this is a really effective method to decrease sugar consumption, this approach is also having some drawbacks. For example, once sugary drinks are made expensive there will be increase in use of artificial sweetners which might be even more unhealthy than sugar. As long as demand is not reduced for sugary foods, supply will be provided. There are many other initiatives that can reduce sugar consumption, by reducing the demand for sugar based items. For instance, people can be taught about the negative effects of increased sugar consumption, furthermore, people who follows a healthy life style can be rewarded, as a result people may willingly reduce sugar in-take and lead a better life style. In conclusion, consumption of sugar based cusines are on the rise, in turn, causing many health related problems in adults, so it is important to reduce consumption of sugary items. Increasing price of sugar based products is one of the solution but the effectiveness of this method is questionable. There are various other initiatives that can be implemented to reduce sweet consumption by reducing the demand for sweet items.