Nowadays, parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed what is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

The new generation is highly competitive and to succeed, a child has to outperform the competition. Parents are therefore, putting so much pressure on their pupils to succeed. Although from the perspective of a parent it is important that his/her offspring is successful in life, pressurizing to churn out the maximum from a child may not be the correct way forward. We shall look into the pros and cons of this approach and arrive at a conclusion. There are several negative effects to stressing a kid. The mental health of the pupil might take a hit when over-stressed. For example, according to the Lancet report, India has the highest number of youth suicides reported in the world and majority of those cases are due to academic strain from the parents. Furthermore, stressing a child to perform more than his capability might decrease his confidence level even more, and as a result, the individual might perform more worse. For instance, several reports have shown that over 70% of pupils are not able to perform well in a stressed environment as compared to a relaxed environment. However a group might argue that, nowadays kids are more prone to distractions from their gadgets and social medias, therefore keeping pressure on children makes sure that they are not loosing momentum in their academical activities. Secondly, having a good systematic way of studying greatly improves the chance for a child to find a good job at an early age and get settled. In conclusion, nowadays parents are putting too much strain on their kids to succeed, because the competition is huge and they need their kids to outperform the competition, inorder to be successful. On contrary to having positive impact on the performance of the child, stressing out a pupil for success is having a negative impact. Therefore straining the kid is not the correct approach for the overall development of the pupil.