Some educationalist think that international exchange visit will benefit teenagers at the school. To what extent do advantages outweight the disadvantages.

Recently, there has been a lot of exchanging programmes for school students. And while there are some drawbacks, I believe that the advantages of such events outweigh the disadvantages, as we will explain here. There are huge benefits coming from these programs. Perhaps the first one is the broadening of the student's horizons. Exposing teenagers to new and different cultures and customs, meaning that their understanding of the world will become more reliable. Furthermore, this experience will enhance their sense of responsibility and become more independent. As they will live far from their families they will have to cook clean and pay bills all by themselves. Finally, they will have the opportunity to learn a foreign language which will promote their job opportunities later in life. On the other hand, there are some concerns. The major issue is feeling homesickness, due to living alone apart from their parents, colleagues and in an unfamiliar culture. All of these factors will result in real stress and anxiety situation. It might also be said that they may face problems in adaptation to their new community. Added to these, the issue of language may be a real barrier,  as learning a foreign language is challenging and need a lot of time. In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages to sending adolescents away from home, the acquired benefits are more impactful.