In many countries, the number of animals and plants is declining. Why do you think this is happening? How can this issue be solved?

Nowadays, there is widespread concern over severe declines in global biodiversity. In this essay, I am going to explain why I believe the main justification for this is human overpopulation, and then I will suggest how governments can deal with this issue accordingly in order to preserve a sustainable world. From my point of view, the growth of the global population is the major factor related to decreasing of fauna and flora. As a consequence of this, many products and services are required by humans in order to assure their survival, increasing consumption of natural resources, such as water and fossil fuels, besides provoking high levels of pollution. Given the drastic environmental changes, many species of animals and plants cannot survive. According to a study from Oxford University, human activity increase by two-thirds the risk of animals and plants extinction when compared with lower human-populated areas. Although being a serious problem, this can be effectively tackled by governmental actions. Public leaders should establish clear regulations about how human activities can be evolved, controlling all negatives environmental impacts. A good illustration of this is a Brazilian law created in 1998, which determines that 25% of the annual income from logging companies should be used to promote reforestation. In conclusion, I am firm in my opinion that the rising in the human population is the principal factor related to reducing the number of animals and plants. Considering this is a problem that can cause serious, and even irreversible consequences for futures generations, I strongly think that governments should act urgently in order to develop regulations and collaborative actions focus on the preservation of biodiversity and controlling human negatives environmental impacts.