Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to higher positions. Do you agree or disagree?

There are some people who think that to be promoted to higher positions you have to work for a company for a long time. In my opinion, to be promoted to higher positions in a company depends on many different variants. As a result, this paper will be discussed why in many cases working in a company for a long period of time do not guarantee anyone to be promoted to higher positions. On the one hand, in the past when the global economy had more stability, it was common for people to work for a long period of time for companies. Nevertheless, it was normal that ambitious individuals went a long time working for a firm, giving all of their energy and expertise to scale their company's ladder in the intuition of acquiring higher positions. In these times, working for a firm, principally multinationals was a sign of stability and wealthiness in which gave the power to these individuals to buy fancy cars and nice houses. However, these times have changed and the global economy is no longer stable as it was before. On the other hand, in the twenty- first,century many things have changed. For instance, the marketplace has become more dynamic with the global usage of the internet by companies. Changing, therefore, the way in how managers hire new employees to their firms. As well as, how individuals see these companies too. For instance, from 2010 many people who used to work on office-based labour, moved to work remotely and acquired more freedom in their lives. Not to mention what the pandemic brought to the marketplace in the context of working remotely. Nevertheless, there are more opportunities globally that increase the rate of staff giving up their jobs to work in a better position somewhere else receiving better wages. In conclusion, as technology increases the rate in how people change their jobs due to the appearance of better opportunities, in a different place with better payment. Companies need to do their best, to retain their great employees since it is becoming hard for employees to work long period of time to be recognized in a company.