Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is no doubt that pollution and traffic jams are the major issues faced by common people day by day. But still, raising the cost of petrol alone cannot alleviate these issues. This essay will examine how increasing petrol price is affecting common population and how to find other solution for the mentioned issues. First, I strongly disagree with the point of increasing fuel price for controlling pollution and traffic jams though it may give some positive results for that. On the contrary, at the same time. it may give a negative impact on middle-class people. Moreover, buying an own vehicle is the dream of many but this is spoiling because of rising fuel prices. Another point is, those who have vehicles are also not affordable to use most of the time. Therefore,by considering these aspects I feel that it’s not the right solution for controlling pollution and gridlock. Second, the solution is in the government’s hands. For instance, the government should take initiation for strengthening the public transport in every nook and corner of the country and motivate people to use this more. In this way, gridlock can be controlled. On the other hand, pollution also can control by promoting awareness about the hazards of pollution, through mass media and impose fines for vehicles that cannot undergo proper pollution tests. To conclude, traffic growth and pollution can be controlled by not only increasing petrol price. In addition, the government should take the initiation of giving awareness about pollution dangers and also increasing the public transport system will be more effective to control traffic issues as well as pollution.