Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having problem?

Nowadays, there are many interesting things that we want to buy. There are some people who have not enough money and get into debt to be able to purchase those things. This essay will discuss about the reasons of this behavior and the solution to prevent this problem. There are many reasons behind this behavior. Firstly, nowadays, advertisements influence people more than ever before. There are many channels to advertise, such as on television, in newspaper or even on the internet. These make people want to be trendy and want to buy things with the latest version. Moreover, status issue is one of the reasons why people want to afford expensive objects. People tend to have thoughts about having expensive things means they have high status in their society. The more high status people see, the more opportunities come. That is why people want to earn more valuable objects even though they can not afford. Consequently, they have to mortgage to be able to own those high status things. However, educating people about finanacial literacy is one of the solutions to prevent those problems. When people know how to manage their money, people will become more careful about their expenditure and try to figure out how to earn more money to be able to buy whatever they want. In conclusion, although advertisement and status issue are reasons of getting into debt to purchase things that people do not need and can not afford, we can prevent these problems by educating about financial literacy to citizens of their countries.