Only government action can solve housing shortages in big cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Housing scarcity is thorny a social issue every government needs to resolve. After all, over-high housing price exerts a detrimental influence on people’s happiness index. Some people argue that only the government can relieve the pressure of housing because the most supreme governmental administration. Personally speaking, governments do have a vital role to play in stabilizing the housing price, but there are still other means to tackle this severe problem. Indeed, I have to concede that governments can, in more ways than one, restrain the ever-accelerated cost of new houses. One of the most effective ways to control over the expenditure of the house is to deter the greedy speculators or property developers from flipping homes, more precisely, the vacancy rate could be greatly reduced when governmental interruption works. Moreover, governments are supposed to strengthen the supervision over real estate developers so that it helps to stop those illicit merchants from disrupting the regular economic orders. However, the effort made by home buyers and builders is indispensable. As far as wealthy house purchaser who desires to earn high interests in housing investment concerned, they should learn to eliminate their avarice for an enormous house. The rich had better assume the responsibility to set a fine example for society. In this way, the public will learn that housing investment is not the only worthwhile way to allocate wealth. In the meanwhile, ordinary buyers not only ought to work diligently to raise money for future house investment, but also make full use of the government policies and bank loans to promote the standard of living. Furthermore, the builders’ efforts cannot be ignored. Firstly, they ought to transfer their housing strategy from building luxurious villas to popularizing economically affordable houses. Only when cheaper houses are built by property developer can they meet the demands of common house consumers. Similarly, mass media have the duty to alter people’s mode of thinking in house via encouraging people to rent houses if they cannot own their property in short time. In closing, I reaffirm my conviction that it is rather superficial to simply say that only government can address the housing shortage problem. Concerted efforts should be made by house buyers and builders.