Many companies and other organizations require employees to wear a uniform. For which jobs do you think a uniform is a good thing? What are the disadvantages of having to wear a uniform at work?

Over the recent years, the trend of wearing uniform at workplace has declined; still there are a few establishments which mandate the use of them. I believe, uniforms are more suitable for those kind of jobs where field work is not involved because similar dressing helps in identifying their belonging. There a a few downsides to this as well which we shall discuss below with relevant examples. To begin with, common clothing demotes bringing out an individuals real personality or true self. People used to wear uniforms during the industrial revolution when they worked in manufacturing units and plants. Nowadays, due to the economic shift towards service industry; the in-demand jobs are those where client servicing and customer interaction holds more importance. It becomes very difficult for the customers' to remember or differentiate a person from another due to similar clothings, hence it is best to avoid the confusion. On the other hand, wearing a tidy and expensive suit does not speak about the persons' position in the company which uniform might. For example, a high ranking official in the army gets distinguished and indentified basis his uniform. Not having a uniform can act as a threat since anyone can be pretend to be someone they are not and misuse the power and position. For instance, in the Pulwama attacks in Kashmir, terrorists dressed as soldiers to infiltrate the military camp and succeeded in killing many army personnel. Moreover, it should be avoided to avert any such future crisis. To summarize, though there might be a few benefits of honing a uniform; there are many drawbacks of having to wear them and their use should be limited to a few mechanical or hospitality profession.