The reason that most individuals are in debt is due to the overuse and irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks should not issue credit cards unless they are completely sure of an individual’s ability to pay back their debts. To what extent do you agree with this?

Debt is something that many individuals hope they will never have to experience in their lifetime, however, for the unfortunate few who do encounter this, it is mainly due to their reckless and irresponsible spending. Some argue that banks should be more responsible and check an individual's creditworthiness before issuing them a credit card, whilst others feel the opposite. I disagree with this notion, and my reasoning will be substantiated in the course of this essay. First and foremost, credit cards are issued to people who already have a bank account, which means that they have attained the age, at which they are considered adults. This means that they are aware of the terms and conditions provided to them by the bank at the time of applying. In addition to this, in every credit card set-up kit, there is a list of instructions regarding the paying back of the funds, so a potential customer cannot claim ignorance. For example, I have a friend, who during the month goes crazy with his credit cards, buying clothes, alcohol, eating dinners at restaurants etc, and at the end of the month complains when the bank sends his reminders to make payments against his credit card purchases. However, that being said, there are circumstances, when the individual is not at fault. This can be seen in the recent prevailing pandemic, where many people lost their jobs and were unable to make payments against their credit cards. As these are unforeseen situations, banks should step in and assist their customers as a measure of goodwill. In conclusion, even though there may be one-off situations where banks should assist their clients, it is not practical to hold banks liable for the overuse of a customer's credit card, as they are fully aware of the responsibilities of holding a card.