Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Although it is true that using bicycles is more friendly with environment than using other types of vehicles, this trend has not been in common in many parts of the globe. There are several causes of this unpopularity, and some solutions could be proposed to promote the usage of bicycles. There are two main underlying explanations for the uncommon use of bicycles. Firstly, it is reported that cycling has been inconvenient because this not only consume a considerable amount of time to travel but also be more physically demanding than riding a motorbike or driving a car. This tends to discourage people from choosing this method, especially on a busy day or when they have a long distance. Secondly, modern people are becoming less environmentally conscious, but be more concerned about their interest. So they choose the transports that benefit their life eventhough those have the negative impact on their surroundings. For example, instead of bringing raincoat with in case of rain when cycling, some means like cars, may help people deal with unpredictable weather condition during their travel. Therefore, it is rather impractical to expect cycling in cities, or even the countryside. Several actions can be taken to increase the popularity of bicycles by governments. The first solution would be to make it more convenient to use. This can be done by providing more cycling lanes which help cyclists reduce time struggling on such busy roads; or seting up bike-share programme which worked in many cities. They could conduct monthly green days that by law require citizens to cycle to work to get people involved in protecting their environment. By doing that, it helps to gradually form a habit of cycling in a long term. In conclusion, riding a bicycle is clearly a better way to protect the environment in comparison with other means of transports