Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, it is increasingly common to see that choosing majors in universities is one of the biggest problems facing all the students. The fact that students are allowed to study their subjects, unfortunately, remains controversial since some people believe that students should only be allowed to study certain subjects which might be useful in the future while others think that they can choose what they want. The following paragraphs will discuss both the views and present the reasons for my argument. On the one hand, students enrolling in undergraduate courses should be allowed to freely choose what they want to study as they are mature enough to know what is good for themselves. To be more specific, a student majoring in Business Administration could study certain subjects relating to Business such as Marketing or Statistics and other subjects that can provide him or her with soft skills. This, in turn, may help the students to develop comprehensively. My cousin, for instance, is currently a first -year student and is given the opportunity to study eight subjects from the subject list given by his college and as a result, not only can he now work in the Business field but he is also able to work in the Entertainment field. On the other hand, students from universities should only register for courses which help them in their future career since the other ones may not. Students majoring in Information and Technology, specifically, might not need such subjects like philosophy or geography. By doing this, the students, however, might lack important skills but they can deeply focus on their major and be successful in what they chose. In a nutshell, I firmly believe that undergraduate students should be allowed to study what they want in order to be fully developed and become successful in their future career. Caution, nevertheless, should be seriously taken by students to wisely choose the subjects and balance all the skills.