In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

Nowadays, there is a tendency that females tend to choose art subjects, while males are likely to choose science ones. In the essay below, some factors contributing to this phenomenon would be elaborated so as to raise the solutions for this problem. On the one hand, there are several reasons leading to this problem. Firstly, one of the reasons for this trend is gender-specific characteristics and competence. Indeed, males are generally more competitive, and they are better than females at logical reasoning; thus, they seem to be more suitable with analytical subjects such as Math or Science. In contrast, girls tend to be more patient, careful, and creative, so every subject requiring meticulousness may suit them better. Moreover, the second motive for this phenomenon is the social pressures influencing their choice of study. To be more specific, some people believe that obtaining science degrees guarantees better job opportunities than acquiring in other subjects such as arts. For instance, males, who are considered the future breadwinners of their families, may choose science to have well-paid jobs after graduating. In contrast, in less developing countries, girls are still expected to become housewives, and the idea of them pursuing their careers as science professors may still be discouraged. On the other hand, I think there are some measures to tackle this problem. First, the decision to pursue arts or science must depend on their interests and preferences. In other words, boys and girls should have the right to choose different environments and subjects to cultivate their aptitude best. This is because unwanted subjects could cause a loss in desire for learning. For example, a boy who loves drawing could feel bored if his parents force him to apply for a science university, and he may have to drop out of school because of his poor performance in his studies. Furthermore, parents should allow their children to select every subject they want regardless of their genders, which could boost their desire to learn and bring positive outcomes. In conclusion, gender stereotypes still influence the choice of study negatively. From my viewpoint, there are many measures that we could do to tackle this problem so that everyone could pursue their education willingly regardless of their gender.