Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behavior? Discuss the reasons and possible results.

It is true that these days people are spending a bigger proportion of their money on beauty care than ever before. Although there are some negative consequences to this, men and women can take certain steps to reduce the potential problems caused by this. There are several reasons behind this. First of all, people want to look like celebrities and gain more popularity among their social circle so they invest in cosmetics. Over the last two decades, digital innovation has led to the creation of highly influential channels like Facebook, Instagram. Consequently, people have too much exposure to film and sports stars and want to copy their looks. Secondly, advertising companies are taking advantage of the digital revolution and making popular faces as brand ambassadors to promote their products. They pay enormous amounts of money to celebrities with the objective of attracting more buyers. People use multiple personal care products for grooming themselves in order to look like a cinema star. There is a general perception that good looking faces will turn heads and get praised and this makes men and women want to look better. To protect young people from such negative influences it is essential to teach them to accept themselves the way they are. It is also essential to inform people that the perfect look of celebrities is not real and is actually a result of using excessive makeup and filters. In addition, natural looks should be promoted everywhere and everyone should learn to accept others irrespective of their flaws. In conclusion, in order to look more like celebs and get complimented people today spend a lot of money for personal care products and this can be reduced by creating general awareness and promoting natural beauty.