The best way for the government to solve traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. Do you agree or disagree?

Traffic congestion is a tough situation particularly in big cities, some individuals believe that the government offers free public transportations like subway or bus, as the best solution for traffic jams. While I agreed with this method is a nice scheme, but I believe that it will be another greater way to mitigate traffic jams. On the one hand, there are many perks to having public transport at no cost. Firstly, free public transit could draw attention from citizens and people may opt to use them instead of driving private cars. As a result, the phenomenon of the city traffic will be improved in many cases because the main reason for traffic problems is caused by a large volume of cars on the road. Secondly, mass transits usually have a larger capacity to accommodate a large influx of passengers commuting at the same time of day, therefore this may greatly help the government to reduce thousands of people moving on-peak hours. On the other hand, in addition to the above advantage of using public transits, I consider that the other measure also could be a solution for easing traffic issues. From a societal perspective, states should publish stricter regulations to restrict drivers. For example, parking restrictions can be implemented to minimize the impact of parking movements on transit vehicles and provide wider space needed for different types of vehicles due to the main cause of delay of vehicles is that waiting while private vehicles are stopped in or out of parking areas. From a personal perspective, everyone has to obey and raise mass awareness regard driving rules. For instance, if each individual strictly complied with traffic laws, such as no rushing overtake, no going to the wrong lane or obeying traffic signals, the problem of traffic will be greatly alleviated. In conclusion, despite free public transit could minimize traffic problems in some ways, it could be replaced by better ways, like strengthening management or self-awareness on following traffic laws.