schools should not force children to learn a foreign language, because some children don't have the natural ability for languages. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's world the capability to communicate in more than one language is increasingly becoming an essential skill set. Although language is a method of human communication and has many advantages today, many believe that children do not have the competence to be multilingual. I completely disagree with this opinion. In contrast, the idea that children do not have the natural ability to be bilingual, they actually have the innate strength to be multilingual if they are taught. For instance, research has shown that a child has the capacity to learn about 5 tongues easily and that multilingualism raises their cognitive power, especially in those who learnt before the age of 5. They are able to first understand different sounds from when they are born till when they begin to speak. As such, they develop problem-solving abilities and are also able to use abstract methods to solve problems. Similarly, learning a foreign tongue is a way of professional development. For example, studies have shown that bilingualism upsurges the ability to multitask and also increases the density of the white matter. The skill to do more than one task at a time especially under pressure is an important skillset, so also, an increase in white matter density may increase brain power. As a result, this increases the prospects of a person when searching for a job. To conclude, having discussed my point of view, I believe children should be encouraged to learn other languages in schools. To enable them to take advantage of their innate ability to learn several dialects and as a result, increase their brainpower and problem-solving abilities also further improve their future prospects.