Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true this statement? How far colours influence people’s health and capacity for work?

It is a common sense that colours have a huge impact on people's moods and places such as work and healthcare could change drastically how people feel just by the colours on the walls. The following paragraphs will explain why this is true and how colours could modify people's experiences. First of all, there are much researchers around the world that prove the influence of colours in our lives. Although the perception of colours is very singular and has influence on age, gender and culture, some hues have the common sense of their psychological effect on us. For example, red hue usually is associated with passion and love but also associated with anger, blood and pain. Therefore, red it is not the best choice to paint walls in offices or hospitals because this kind of feeling could make people feel unproductive or illnesses. Moreover, the right choice of colours could improve creativity, happiness and focus. Places that require concentration needs to consider colours as an essential part to increase productivity. Furthermore, patients in the hospitals will benefit as well because some colours improve our mood. For instance, colours like blue and green are always associated with calm and wellness. These colours are associated with the colours we have in nature and will help those people who work in stressful environments to feel more relaxed and calm, even though the work is stressful. Therefore, colours can neutralize some unpleasant feelings we could experience in stressful places, like offices and hospitals. To conclude, I wholeheartedly believe that colours can change our feelings and after research we already know how colours affect us. People could feel less stress in some stressful environments and colours could help to neutralize those effects on us.