Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

It is true that while numerous youngsters are familiar with international celebrities, their knowledge about the historically crucial people of their nations is small. In this essay, I will discuss a reason behind this situation and the way how to make them interested in historically famous people. The main reason for this phenomenon is the fact that young people find historical facts boring. The major cause of this process is boredom associated with the learning of history, and moreover, teenagers consider historical facts as not useful. Since from the beginning of the school life, under the rote system of learning, students didn’t have any time to deeply think about their historical accidents and historic figure. This method of learning doesn’t allow for a deeper understanding of a subject and may result in wrong impression or understanding a concept. On top of that, with the help of the internet and smartphone, youngsters have an easy access to ample amount of information about foreign culture, such as foreign movies and foreign songs. The research from Korean Education Center indicated that about 80% of teenagers have their own smartphone, and nine out of ten of those kids have a social media account in which they can find bunch of information about other culture. There are several ways to alleviate this problem. Launching new modules that inform teenagers about historically important incidents and people in a variety of ways that can arouse their interest is the possible way to create their interest on their history. For example, educational institutes can organise tours of national museums of arts and history where they will get plenty of evidence regarding the previous conditions of the nation. To elucidate, modification in the way of teaching can help to stimulate the growth of history related aspects. In conclusion, although a myriad of people consider that children are keen to gather information of internationally famous people, and they have little interest in important figure in their history, this phenomenon can be mitigated by adopting new module.