In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as the food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

There are controversial perspectives over making use of plastic containers in a variety of aspects in our daily life such as food and drink manufacturing. While I consider myself as an advocate of the former, I would contend the latter may do more harm than good. Obviously, the appearance of plastic is regarded as a breakthrough in history as it facilitates our life to become better. In specific, the price of plastic is so affordable that every firm tends to use this material to package their products with a view to making profits. Moreover, due to convenience plastic has become more and more popular among customers. Consumers can throw it away easily after taking advantage of the plastic containers or bottles. Starbucks can be cited as a compelling example of this. Although a wealth of global stores of Starbucks currently turns into using recyclable materials such as paper, in Vietnam, they still use plastic cups to comprise the drink for customers on the grounds that the price of recyclable materials is prohibitively exorbitant. It is undeniable that plastic containers act as a precursor in daily life. While plastics’ merits are widely acknowledged, this material significantly exacerbates our environment. There are two most ubiquitous plastic trash treatments, which is incinerating or ending up in the landfill. The former will give out the toxic particles into the atmosphere endangering the wellbeing of both humans and animals. Moreover, the enormous land resource needed for the second one depends on the time for the microbes in the soil to decompose this man-made compound. Some animals, which are on the verge, are also affected by plastic. They may swallow the leftover food wrapped in plastic packaging discarded by the tourists in the reserves or mountains, which make them suffer from indigestion. It is obvious that plastic is now worsening our environment. All in all, while plastic plays a vital role in developing the economy especially in the food and drink industry, it will jeopardize the environment if we cannot control the use of plastic.