Question: In order to alive traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportlong. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There is a huge problem with traffic jams today and governments have to do something to stabilize the situation. One approach is suggested: to tax private car owners more and increase the use of public transport. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this solution. Firstly, there is a distinct advantage in raising the taxes for using cars. The more money needed to pay for driving a private vehicle the more attractive will be the choice of going by bus or tram. For instance, the systems of public transportation are developing fast in Europe and people are happy to see that their cities are less filled with cars. Significant changes were and will be achieved due to mentioned approach. Secondly, we have to highlight the main weakness of taxing car owners. Although the money obtained that way will fill the states' budgets, this solution will decrease people's mobility dramatically. More and more people In Hungary start to complain about long waiting for buses, constant delays, and they have to have extra time in order to be at work on time, therefore, they sleep less. The far-reaching consequences of the given approach can significantly spoil people's daily life and the economical growth of a region. In conclusion, I would say that governments should find a fine balance between both options. Expensive and powerful cars should be taxed more because they pollute the air and create a lot of noise. Also, buses and trams can create traffic jams in cities too and managers must organize their schedule effectively.