Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

t is argued that whether it is manufacturers and supermarkets or consumers’ responsibility to reduce the volume of packaging of goods. In my point of view, I think that it is a shared responsibility for both producers, sellers and buyers to diminish the amount of packing of goods. On the one hand, it is apparently that manufacturers and supermarkets is responsible for reducing the amount of packaging of goods, and this is actually under their ability. In production perspective, manufacturers can absolutely design and produce products in the size and shape and form which is best material saving. And by doing so, they might even have better profit margin which stems from less material consumed. In trading perspective, supermarkets definitely can promote those light-packing goods by reserving them the best visible positions on the shelves or put them in the weekly leaflets so that they are eye-catching and appealing to the buyers. On the other hand, it does not mean that consumers are not involved in reducing the commercial packaging, in contrast, they are a deciding factor for producers to choose which products or packaging should be continued producing. Consumers can avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging to share the above-mentioned responsibility. For example, two products might have similar contents but different coverings, the wise and responsible choice should be the one with less complicated or heavy packaging because it would cost less for the manufacturer to produce and therefore lower price should be expected. And, that action would help the environment in long term too. In conclusion, in my point of view, both manufacturers, supermarkets and consumers are responsible for diminish the volume of packaging of goods.