As most people spend a major part of their life at work, satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. what factors contribute to job satisfaction? how realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Having been spending a majority of our lives at work makes us reckon about various aspects of our jobs, most importantly job satisfaction, so as to prosper and better our lives. There are plenty of factors which are influential on being more satisfied with what we do such as job security, job promotion, pay rise, benefits to society and so on. In spite of the importance of job fulfilment, in today’s world owing to the global economic crisis it doesn’t seem very realistic to prioritize job satisfaction as the first expectation. There can be numerous factors to have a prominent impact on job satisfaction. To be more precise, a large number of people believe the most substantial factor is job security which bestows the individual a great deal of peace of mind. Indeed, the less concerned you are regarding losing your job, the more pleased you will be in your occupation and life. Moreover, many people get satisfaction in their jobs by imagining a bright horizon for their job ’s future. This is to say that the idea of being promoted by doing their best makes them strive more pleasingly. For instance, BMW Car Company has kept its staff happy with their jobs by promoting them on one condition of demonstrating high creativity and effort which has led to BMW’s elegant car types that stem from staff contentment. Despite the aforementioned significance of job satisfaction and its contributing factors, due to the current worldwide economic crisis, it is not realistic to seek job contentment, but to find a job to make ends meet. Recent statistics all over the world proves the high rate of unemployment which makes possessing a job superior to job achievement. Consequently, people cannot really expect fulfilment in their careers and do a job suited to their interests and likes. On the whole, not only does everyone wish to have an appropriate job according to their qualifications and desires, but they also long to get work gratification since they spend most of their lives at work. However, this is only possible when the global economic crisis eradicate.