Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that employers should ask questions to the job applicants with the topic related to hobbies and interests and whether the applicants are married or single. However, others oppose this idea. In this essay, I will present both opinions as well as discuss my point of view. The advocates believe that asking personal questions, such as hobbies and interests, make employers understand more the personality of the job seeker. Therefore, the employer is able to judge whether the applicant will fit with the company's culture or not. For example, airline companies will give their employee some benefits, such as a free tickets for travelling free. If someone does not like travelling, the person will not appreciate this benefit, moreover, they will not share their travelling experiences with other people. Isn't frustrating? If this happens, employee satisfaction and productivity will decline. The opponents think that personal information could have an adverse effect on hiring decisions. For example, if the hiring manager knows that the interviewee just got married, the manager might assume that the interviewee may not be able to meet work expectations because of personal commitment. Another situation is getting information about where the job seeker lives. Employers sometimes reject people living far away because they assume this may affect punctuality. In conclusion, I believe that diversity is very important in the workplace. The diversity of thought and opinions leads eventually to a better decisions. This can be achieved by asking fewer personal questions like marital status and asking more about work skills and experiences. The less personal info the interviewer has, the less likely they will take a biased hiring decision and the more likely there is diversity.