First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job. To what extent do you agree?

It is normal that job-seekers are serious about their performances in an interview. They argue that only by leaving their interviewers a good impression at the time can secure their jobs, but others say a successful interview cannot prevent workers from redundancy in the long run. In my opinion, I agree with the latter one and think that although a good interview may be able to help employees get a job, without sufficient emotional intelligence may in the end lead to lay-offs. Indubitably, an eminent interview skill can help a person to get a job. This is because having less information about interviewees, interviewers struggle to make a precise decision without an adequate interview. They evaluate a person whether he or she is competent to their requirements through conversations during an interview. For example, in order to maintain relationships with the company's overseas patrons or to establish rapport with foreign clientele, multinational cooperations will need a person who is more excellent in linguistic competence. Under this circumstance, if employees can speak well in a second language during an interview, it is more likely for them to get the job compared to other people who cannot. On the other hand, one's emotional intelligence is of utmost importance to secure his work. After hiring a person, there will be a three-month period of probation for supervisors to further evaluate their subordinates' social skills. Such skills are essential to companies, especially to conglomerates, because workers usually have to cooperate with other colleagues to accomplish a goal. In this account, a person who is less emotionally intelligent may be marked as incompetent, which may bring about a ramification of redundancy. In conclusion, from my point of view, although an outstanding performance during interviews can help people to successfully get jobs, social skills are salient to secure their careers.