Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, children are spending most of their time watching TV and playing video games. Some people think that these activities are harmful to children's mental well being. I partially agree with the statement because in my opinion, although, spending a lot of time on TV is detrimental for health, playing video games is useful for children's brains. On the one hand, watching TV for extended hours can negatively impact children's mental health. As it is difficult to control what children see on TV, sometimes they might watch shows about serious issues such as criminal activities or adult programmes. These kinds of stories can be stressful and instigating. In addition, spending a lot of time looking at screens can also cause isolation as children are not engaging with their peer groups which can eventually lead to depression. On the other hand, playing video games can be beneficial for children as it improves their cognitive skills. As the majority of video games involve the alertness, planning and thinking ability of a person, it can be a good exercise for their mind. Furthermore, it also helps to increase the concentration power which will help a child in the long run. For instance, while playing a Mario game, one has to be focused in order to one step up otherwise the player will get be out of the game. Hence, it enhances the cognitive functions of the brain. To conclude, spending long hours watching TV and playing video games are the most liked activities for children nowadays. In my opinion, these actions have both benefits and harms. If watching a lot of TVs can bring sadness and isolation in children's lives then, playing video games can help improve their IQ.